drumnbass.be forum

drumnbass.be forum » Production » Production questions & answers » Sooo many questions....
Go to the bottom of this page Sooo many questions....
Author
Cool Producer

images/avatars/avatar-1730.gif

Registration Date: 30-12-2005

Helpfulness rating: 
1 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 9.00

I have ALOT of questions concerning DnB production, as I'm new to the artform. I've been producing for around 3 months now and use the sample based approach. To save space and nerves i guess i'll just ask two questions here:

1- I use FL Studios 5, and was told by someone with FSR that i needed to "quantize" the drumz in my intro..... exactly what does "quantize" mean, and how do i achieve this with FL?

2- Secondly, im trying to get my 'ghost snares' right and atm im using sampled 'roffles' or whatever.... for ghost snares should i be using the same sample as my main snare? (and then change velocity and pitch slightly?) or......?

i have many, many more questions. i dont want someone to walk me thru my own producing, its just that i only know what sounds good to me.... i know nothing about EQ'ing, envelopes, band pass, low end, and all the other technical jargon i hear all the time. Just need a little help gettin started, and cant wait to post one of my tunes so u guys can rip it to shreads.. Wink

__

MuZIK
15-01-2006 02:13 Homepage of BeatJunkie
Surya Surya is a male
The Robot

images/avatars/avatar-1127.gif

Registration Date: 04-11-2002

Helpfulness rating: 
44 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 9.27

For the ghosts: Rolly Polly Drums???

__
"In dnb you should make people jump not swim"
- Pieter Frenssen 2004

15-01-2006 11:25 Homepage of Surya
Muad'Dib Muad'Dib is a male
Andrejnalin

images/avatars/avatar-2169.jpg

Registration Date: 02-12-2003

Helpfulness rating: 
18 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 9.50

Quantize?