drumnbass.be forum

drumnbass.be forum » Production » Production questions & answers » PLEASE HELP! Is it ok to use breaks???
Go to the bottom of this page PLEASE HELP! Is it ok to use breaks???
Author
Sponsor

Registration Date: 01-06-2005

Helpfulness rating: 
2 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 9.50

Greetings all!

I'm new here, and having had a look around and listen to the tracks here I've found that the standards are high and the general knowledge is excellent. Bravo.

Ok - using breaks...

I've been fiddling around with production for about four years, and have always been quite set on making my own drum loops in a step sequencer from single hits. I've come to the conclusion, finally, that to get a good sound from the skills I have I'm going to have to start using sampled breaks, probably layering some additional hits on top.

Now, to what extent can you use a break/s and not feel like a bit of a dirty cheat? Is this just because I'm new to this, or is there a line you can cross in terms of abusing somebody else's work?

I'm aware that there are vast amounts of skill involved in getting the old breaks to sound good via compression/eqing/chopping, but if you could shed some light on what is generally accepted in the production community at large.

Something that has struck me when I stopped to think about it was, as an example, the fact that Zinc, fairly bigtime and respected producer on all accounts, uses the Scorpio fill quite a lot (I think) in his tunes, and nobody seems to say "well he's ok but...."

While I'm here, is there any good tutorials about for dealing with old breaks? I've always tried to get amens looping right but I just end up galloping along out of time and feeling a bit useless.

Any help massively appreciated. Cheers!

additional - I've put my latest work in progress in your tunes section, but having had a listen to the other stuff I think you'll perhaps have a chuckle when you hear it, not that its that bad, I hope, but pale in comparison.