drumnbass.be forum

drumnbass.be forum » Production » Production questions & answers » mix now or mix later?
Go to the bottom of this page mix now or mix later?
Author
sssomebody ssstop me!!!

images/avatars/avatar-3030.jpg

Registration Date: 23-01-2010

Helpfulness rating: 
2 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 9.50

so how do you guys usually aproach it?. do you mix the sounds as you put them in the track or do you lay it down and then come back and mix (volume, eq, compress, pan etc) every sound to fit? you might say to act as i consider but i'm just a noob trying to find different techniques to see which fits me best. right now i do it on the spot but as the track is finished i do not like the result beacause either the drums are too heavy and too in the front and the rest is in the back, either the other way.
regards
03-07-2010 21:05
Puzzle Puzzle is a male
..zebra?

images/avatars/avatar-2746.gif

Registration Date: 27-05-2008

Helpfulness rating: 
9 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 7.67

quote:
Originally posted by KILLER_FAN
do you mix the sounds as you put them in the track or do you lay it down and then come back and mix (volume, eq, compress, pan etc) every sound to fit?
regards

Both.

I try to mix on the go, but the result is very very rarely good enough, so I have to come back to it after 'finishing' the track.

__
SoundCloud
Facebook
YouTube
03-07-2010 22:33 Homepage of Puzzle
BattleDrone BattleDrone is a male
2161... the future.

images/avatars/avatar-3255.jpg

Registration Date: 30-12-2005

Helpfulness rating: 
40 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 8.70

quote:
Originally posted by Puzzle
quote:
Originally posted by KILLER_FAN
do you mix the sounds as you put them in the track or do you lay it down and then come back and mix (volume, eq, compress, pan etc) every sound to fit?
regards

Both.

I try to mix on the go, but the result is very very rarely good enough, so I have to come back to it after 'finishing' the track.

^THAT^

__