drumnbass.be forum

drumnbass.be forum » Production » Production questions & answers » Reason's Thor Vs Ni Massive / Albino 3
Go to the bottom of this page Reason's Thor Vs Ni Massive / Albino 3
Author
joeuk

images/avatars/avatar-2839.jpg

Registration Date: 25-11-2008

Helpfulness rating: 
1 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 7.00

I'm only using reason but i have dabbled with creating sounds in Massive and Albino 3, what are people's thoughts on these synths and their relative merits / downfalls? I'm a novice when it comes to synthesis and i guess im wondering if there are things that can be achieved more easily using different synths?? Or is it all about getting to know the soft synths in Reason better. I;m familiar with the theory that ist not the software but the person using it that matters. Any thoughts??
30-05-2009 13:08
Ketz Ketz is a male
Thinking outside the box...

images/avatars/avatar-2874.png

Registration Date: 10-10-2007

Helpfulness rating: 
14 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 9.86

when it comes to synthesis i think understanding the fundamentals is really important (basic waveforms, filters, lfo's, routing etc), also try not getting lost in the sea of VSTs, pick one (be it thor in reason or massive / albino, z3ta etc) and just try to get familiar with it, theres a thor reece tutorial on u tube thats been really informative

once u get the principles u can apply em to any synth, as each one has its own intricacies Big Grin

but yeah don't underestimate the power of Reason u can make sick sounds if experiment long enough!

__

30-05-2009 14:12 Homepage of Ketz
demure demure is a male
mastication fo de nation

images/avatars/avatar-2837.jpeg

Registration Date: 22-01-2009

Helpfulness rating: 
2 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 10.00

thor all the way its a beast Big Grin clearly though my opinion is hugely biased take it with a pinch of salt Big Grin
30-05-2009 14:15
Crispy Liquids Crispy Liquids is a male
Liquid Funkateer

images/avatars/avatar-3110.jpg