drumnbass.be forum

drumnbass.be forum » Production » Production questions & answers » Basslines in FL8
Go to the bottom of this page Basslines in FL8
Author

Registration Date: 28-01-2009

Okay, i just got into DnB production scene (and this website) and i'm in real need of some professional help. My issue lies in the construction of the basslines. i've tried using the 3xosc, predator, and some other VSTs to try and recreate that wobble on the basslines. Listen to Running by Chase and Status. The bassline is brilliant on that track.

I'm still learning but its hard to find a tutorial or even a book on this stuff. I can't figure out how the LFO works with the OSC and all the other knobs and shit (can you tell im a noob? lol). I've tried changing all the parameters and knobs that i can see and still nothing. lol I'm in desperate need of some help. Let me know if you need any info from me and i'll be glad to oblige. You can also hit me up on AIM or MSN.

Please and Thank you! Happy
29-01-2009 08:35
Gregg Gregg is a male
Wicked Producer

images/avatars/avatar-2706.jpg

Registration Date: 16-05-2007

Helpfulness rating: 
8 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 7.75

I think you won’t need tutorials to get going with the 3xosc, it really can be done by experimenting and playing around.

If you need tips as far as sound creation with it is concerned browse through the forum and search for wobble or whatever bass sound. There must be quite a lot threads.

If you want to get LFO movement with the 3xosc go to its instrument properties (ins) and choose as LFO target the cut. Go down to the LFO and edit it, choose your desired predelay, attack and speed. Don’t forget to set the amount (how strong the LFO has an impact on the initial sound) otherwise you’ll hear nothing. And choose a sound that has some harmonics to it.

Check this thread some basic knowledge:

FAQ / Knowledge Base (lots of links to production related information)

Keep it up!
29-01-2009 10:27 Homepage of Gregg