drumnbass.be forum » Production » Hardware » Looking for a Mac
Go to the bottom of this page Looking for a Mac
Author
Danny boy

Registration Date: 28-08-2007

Helpfulness rating: 
1 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 5.00

Hi people,
I am considering whether or not to get a mac so that i can make my tunes on logic. I hear really good things about the duo and as i am going to uni next year (They all use macs and logic) thought this would be a wise move.

So i need to know a few things about Macs:

Are they really that good? Why do macs seem to be the best computers for anything media related?

I see that the specifications in a mac are less powerfull then what you can get in a pc for the money. Is it that macs need less processing power etc to run? why do they cost more for the spec? is it worth it? etc

What macs to you recommend for making music? Where can i get a good deal?
Theres quite a lot to answer there but any help would be appreciated. Im a total novice when it comes to macs so im looking to my trusty DnB community for help.

Thanks people!

__
Art For Your Ears...
04-02-2008 22:06
Tomos Tomos is a male
Infidel

images/avatars/avatar-2998.jpg

Registration Date: 15-04-2007

Helpfulness rating: 
18 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 9.28

I use a new iMac at work everyday for graphic design projects and it's fantastic. It does have a few glitches now and then tho (like not being able to close down properly when I try to quickly close a load of copied, heavy-weight programs and attempt to shut down within about 30 seconds), but it's never caused a problem because once it's turn on again, everything is back to normal.

A major advantage of a Mac is that there aren't as many viruses out there that are designed to attack them. Most viruses are developed with maxiumum impact in mind - meaning, they create them for PCs (and Internet Explorer). Incidentally, I'd recommend you use Firefox - less virus prone than IE and much cleaner and easier to use!