drumnbass.be forum

drumnbass.be forum » Production » Hardware » Newbie to sound hardware need some explanations
Go to the bottom of this page Newbie to sound hardware need some explanations
Author

Registration Date: 21-04-2004

Hey, Let me first explain before I ask my question

I am a web designer, and a professional in alot of languages. I know my computer shit. I've been building machines and messing about wiv them since i was very very young. But one thing which has slipped me by is music production. I know alot about general pc hardware, but when it comes to music stuff I dont know fuck all.

At the moment i produce drum n bass on a pc with logic, I have 1 gig of DDR ram (Kingston of course) a 3ghz Amd Duron Processor and a brand new ASrock motherboard which i have recently bought.

I want to purchase some sound production hardware, a sound card would be on the list first i imagine but which one to get illudes me, midi has never been explained to me, I understand u can conect keyboards and other midi devices to ur pc with it - but i need to know more from an actual user side (u can only got so much from descriptions)

If someone or some ppl could help me out and just post up a few ideas on what would improve my music production, and what i could really benefit from I would be incredibly grateful as it would help me out a great deal!

Thanx for ur time and thanx in advance to ne one who replies!

__
~tit
21-04-2004 17:20 Homepage of titbread
Surya Surya is a male
The Robot

images/avatars/avatar-1127.gif

Registration Date: 04-11-2002

Helpfulness rating: 
44 Vote(s) - Average Rating: 9.27

Midi is a language designed for electonic tools in the music business to make communication between them possible.

In the case today, the computer is ofton used to give commands to synthesisers connected to it via midi.